Current Members

Principal Investigator

Prof. Matthew Tirrell

Prof. Matthew Tirrell

mtirrell@uchicago.edu

Founding Pritzker Director of the Institute for Molecular Engineering.


Postdoctoral Researchers

Handan Acar

Handan Acar

hacar@uchicago.edu

Complex coacervate formations with novel polyelectrolytes and designing peptides as biocompatible engineered therapeutics at the nanoscale.

Qiming He

Qiming He

qiminghe@uchicago.edu

Formulating polymeric films that are resistant to finger printing

(Sean) Jun Mao

(Sean) Jun Mao

maoj@uchicago.edu

Develop synthetic routes of biocompatible block copolymers for biomedical applications.

Amanda Marciel

Amanda Marciel

amarciel@uchicago.edu

Design and synthesis of self-assembling soft materials

Nader Taheri Qazvini

Nader Taheri Qazvini

ntaheri@uchicago.edu

Investigating organic/inorganic composite nanoparticles as building blocks of injectable materials for industrial and biomedical application

Samanvaya Srivastava

Samanvaya Srivastava

samsri@uchicago.edu

Design, structure-properties relationships and applications of polymeric based self-assembled materials.

Jeff Ting

Jeffrey Ting

jting1@uchicago.edu

Structural evolution of tunable multiblock polyelectrolyte complexes for new biomaterials applications.

Graduate Students

John Barrett

John Barrett

jcbarrett@uchicago.edu

Peptide amphiphile micelles as synthetic vaccines for immunotherapy applications.

Whitney Fowler

Whitney Fowler

wcfowler@uchicago.edu

Design, synthesis, and characterization of self-assembling soft materials for nutrient recovery and water purification.

Lu Li

Lu Li

lilu@uchicago.edu

Experimental and theoretical determination of phase behavior of mixtures from oppositely charged polyelectrolytes.

Harrison Paul

Harrison Paul

hrpaul@uchicago.edu

Modified cellulose nanocrystal based materials for anti-fouling separations membranes.

Mat Schnorenberg

Mat Schnorenberg

schnorenberg@uchicago.edu

Designing self-assembling nanoparticles for drug delivery, particularly for cancer therapeutic peptides.

Hao Wu

Hao Wu

wuhao@uchicago.edu

Design and fabrication of anisotropic polyelectrolyte hydrogel for energy applications.

Staff Scientists

Jeffrey Vieregg

Jeffrey Vieregg

jvieregg@uchicago.edu

Nucleic acids, micelles, RNA, DNA

Research Assistants